top of page
April - Night Swimmers
April - Night Swimmers

Sat, 13 Apr

|

Seven Fables

April - Night Swimmers

Join us in the woods of Exmoor to discuss Night Swimmers by Roisin Maguire

Time & Location

13 Apr 2024, 14:00 – 16:30

Seven Fables, 7 The High Street Dulverton Exmoor Somerset TA22 9HB UK

About the event

NIGHT SWIMMERS

by ROISIN MAGUIRE

'A warm, unsentimental and beautifully-observed book for our times' Lucy Caldwell, author of These Days 

'If I were in bother I'd want the Ballybrady bunch at my back. This is a truly heart-warming story of loss, recovery and above all, of community' Bernie McGill, author of The Watch House

Grace lives alone in Ballybrady, a little village on the sublimely beautiful east coast of Northern Ireland. She fills her days with swimming, fishing, quilting, and baiting the tourists who arrive from the city with more money than sense. She hasn't left the village since a traumatic stay in London as a young woman at the end of the 1980s.  One of the tourists is Evan, taking an enforced holiday from his family and work in Belfast after breaking down after the death of his daughter in infancy. He has come to try to process his grief and make himself desirable again as a husband, a father and a business partner.  But he hasn't been there a week until he gets trapped by lockdown. When Grace saves his life in a kayaking accident - if it was an accident - and Evan's troubled son arrives to stay, all three are drawn together in a way that forces a reckoning with their personal traumas and draws them back into society.  This is a moving and funny debut novel set in a quirky coastal community you will be desperate to visit after reading. It will appeal to readers of Elizabeth Strout, Maggie O'Farrell and Alice Munro.

'Exquisitely written, teeming with wonderfully relatable characters and sporting a gloriously eccentric, cranky and memorable 50-year-old heroine, Night Swimmers is one of the most emotionally intelligent novels I've read in a long time.' Dr Sharon Blackie, author of The Enchanted Life

'Night Swimmers is superb: a tough, wise, redemptive novel from a writer who knows the perils of the Irish Sea as well as those of the human heart.' Sam Thompson, author of Communion Town

We look forward to walking with you in April...

BOOKING IS ESSENTIAL - Please see ticket options below

WELL BEHAVED DOGS ARE WELCOME ON THIS WALK

Night Swimmers RRP £16.99 HB

Published by Profile Books Ltd 01/02/24

ISBN: 9781800816749

304 Pages Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm

Tickets

  • OPTION A - Walk Only

    Sale ends: 06 Apr, 16:30

    Walk Only - In the event of Seven Fables cancelling this event you will be entitled to a full refund. If you are unable to attend please inform us, refunds will only be issued if notified 7 days prior to the event.

    £7.00
  • OPTION B - Walk + Book

    Sale ends: 06 Apr, 16:30

    Walk + Night Swimmers (RRP £16.99 HB) - *Please note there is no refund available for this ticket option

    £14.00
  • OPTION C - Walk + Book + P&P

    Sale ends: 06 Apr, 16:30

    Walk + Night Swimmers (RRP £16.99 HB) + Delivery within the UK - *Please note there is no refund available for this ticket option

    £18.00

Total

£0.00

Share this event

bottom of page